Get In Touch

London Design Medal: Zaha Hadid

The London Design Medal is awarded to an individual who has distinguished themselves within the industry and demonstrated consistent design excellence. In 2007 the London Design Medal was awarded to Zaha Hadid, for her contribution to design and the city.

The Iraqi-British architect was the first woman to receive the Pritzker Architecture Prize, in 2004. She received the UK's most prestigious architectural award, the Stirling Prize, in 2010 and 2011. In 2012, she was made a Dame by Elizabeth II for services to architecture, and in 2015 she became the first and only woman to be awarded the Royal Gold Medal from the Royal Institute of British Architects. Hadid sadly passed away on March 31st 2016 but her legacy lives on through Zaha Hadid Architects.

Major works of Hadid's include the aquatic centre for the London 2012 Olympics, Michigan State University's Broad Art Museum in the US, and the Guangzhou Opera House in China. Some of her designs have been presented posthumously, including the statuette for the 2017 Brit Awards, and several of her buildings were still under construction at the time of her death, including the Al Wakrah Stadium in Qatar, a venue for the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Hadid's pioneering vision redefined architecture for the 21st century and captured imaginations across the globe. Each of her projects transformed notions of what can be achieved in concrete, steel, and glass; combining her unwavering optimism for the future and belief in the power of invention with advanced design, material and construction innovations.

Start planning your
#LDF18 now!

Sign up to My Festival