A major feature of The Festival each year is the ambitious programme of special projects and installations. With the help of our sponsors, we have commissioned the world’s best designers and architects, as well as pionering new talents, to create something extraordinary in response to a variety of stimuli such as a particular material, a theme or a location. They've featured in some of London’s most prominent and best-loved spaces, including the V&A, Southbank Centre, Tate Modern and Trafalgar Square.

2016: Your Side of Town 'Forests' Installation by Asif Khan

2016: The Smile by Alison Brooks Architects

2016: Beloved by Tabanlioglu Architects

2016: Foil by Layer

2016: Liquid Marble by Mathieu Lehanneur

2016: The Green Room by Glithero

2016: L'Eden by Perrier-Jouët

2016: Designer Souvenirs at the V&A Shop

2015: A Bullet From A Shooting Star by Alex Chinneck


2015: You Know You Cannot See Yourself So Well As By Reflection


2015: The Ogham Wall by Grafton Architects


2015: Curiosity Cloud by mischer'traxler


2015: Mise-en-abyme by Laetitia de Allegri & Matteo Fogale


2015: Works in Wood by Robin Day


2015: The Cloakroom by Faye & Erica Toogood


2015: Zotem by Kim Thome


2015: The Tower of Babel by Barnaby Barford

2015: #PoweredByTweets Challenge by Twitter


2015: 10 Designers in the West Wing


2014: A Place Called Home by Jasper Morrison, Patternity, Raw Edges and Studioilse


2014: Double Space by Barber & Osgerby


2013: Endless Stair by Alex de Rijke


2012: BE OPEN Sound Portal by ARUP


2012: Prism by Keiichi Matsuda


2012: Mimicry Chairs by Nendo


2012: Bench Years by Established & Sons


2011: Timber Wave by AL_A


2011: Two Lines by David Chipperfield Architects


2011: Textile Field by Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec


2010: Outrace by Kram/Weisshaar


2010: Framed by Stuart Haygarth


2010: Drop by Paul Cocksedge Studio


2010: Blow and Roll by Oskar Zieta


2009: Supercell by Marc Newson


2009: Tournament by Jaime Hayón


2009: Paper Tower by Shigeru Ban


2009: Chair Arch by Wallpaper*/Martino Gamper


2009: In Praise of Shadows


2008: Sclera by David Adjaye


2008: Portrait by Fredrikson Stallard


2007: Prototile by AL_A 

Principal Supporter

Major Supporters

Headline Partner