Now in its tenth year, the London Design Festival pays tribute annually to designers who are making or have made a significant difference to our lives through their innovation, originality and imagination. Initially offering one medal, there are now four individual medals which have become highly coveted accolades in the world of design. This year, internationally recognised London- based property investment company British Land will be partnering as Event Supporter for the second time.

Event Supporter

"Great design is at the heart of both British Land and the London Design Festival. Promoting great urban design, innovation and ideas is central to our vision of creating Places People Prefer and we’re delighted to be a partner of this year’s event." 

Chris Grigg, CEO 

Panerai London Design Medal

Swarovski Emerging Talent Medal

Airbnb Design Innovation Medal

Johnson Tiles Lifetime Achievement

Awarded to David Adjaye this year, the Panerai London Design Medal is the highest accolade bestowed upon an individual who has distinguished themselves within the industry and demonstrated consistent design excellence over a number of years.

Past winners include Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby, Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec, Peter Saville, Rosario Hurtado and Roberto Feo of El Ultimo Grito, Ron Arad, Thomas Heatherwick, Sir Paul Smith, Marc Newson and Zaha Hadid.

Awarded to Bethan Laura Wood this year, The Swarovski Emerging Talent Medal recognises an individual who has made an impact on the design scene within five years of graduation.
Past winners include Marjan van Aubel, Roland Lamb, Daniel Rybakken and Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg.
Awarded to Daan Roosegaarde this year, The Airbnb Design Innovation Medal celebrates entrepreneurship in all its forms, both locally and internationally. It honours an individual who has built one or more businesses where design lies at the core of its development and success.
Previous winners include Will Crawford and Peter Brewin of Concrete Canvas, Nicolas Roope, David Constantine and Jane ní Dhulchaointigh.
Awarded to Sir Kenneth Grange this year, The Johnson Tiles Lifetime Achievement Medal honours an individual who has made significant and fundamental contributions to the design industry over their career.
Previous winners include Ken Adam, Richard Rogers, Sir Terence Conran and Vidal Sassoon.

Principal Supporter

Major Supporters

Headline Partner